Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Deerfield High School Student Congress Team wrapped up another wonderful season at the Illinois Congressional Debate Association State Tournament on February 23 at Harper College. The team placed at both levels of the state tournament.
State Championship Tournament – 3rd Place
Michael Lee, Graham Ambrose, Michael Pattis and Ryan Cenek competed in the State Championship Tournament. Graham Ambrose and Michael Pattis won 2nd Place Speaker Awards. 
State Sweepstakes Invitational – 2nd Place
The Invitational Team of Kate Baddeley, Amelia Berger, Ari Brown, Zak Falouji, Rachel Feldman, Jacob Levitt, Marisa Levitt, Benji Sachs, Emily Shindler, Allison Sutton, and William Rivlin represented DHS in the ICDA State Invitational.  Emily Shindler won a Critics Choices award, Amelia Berger, Marisa Levitt, and William Rivlin won 1st Place Speaker awards, Ari Brown and William Rivlin won Best Presiding Officer awards, and Kate Baddeley won a Second Place Speaker award.  

In addition, in recognition of her success throughout the year, Amelia Berger was selected as an All-State Team Member.
The team captains are Michael Lee and Graham Ambrose. The coaches are Lisa Allen, Mary Boote, and Kelly Walenga.