Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The National Merit Scholarship Program has named its 2013 Finalists and 18 District 113 students are on that list.
Established in 1955, National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) identifies and honors academically talented U.S. high schools students. About 1.5 million juniors from more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Finalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.
NMSC recently narrowed its 16,000 Semifinalists down to 15,000 Finalists. NMSC will select 8,300 Merit Scholarship winners from this group and announce them in March.
Nine Deerfield High School students and nine Highland Park High School students were named Semifinalists in September and all of them have also been named National Merit Scholarship Finalists.
Deerfield High School:
Richard Bernstein
Maneesh Chitturu
Shayna Fertig
Bernice Hsu
Madeleine Kenyon
Marissa Levy
Tobias Ma
Samuel Mostow
Elizabeth Zwart